A Month of Faves: Evanovich vs. Evanovich

a month of favorites event GirlXoxo

Well darling folks- it’s WEEK 3 of A Month of Faves! It seems like yesterday that Tanya @ Girlxoxo was emailing around and looking for hosts for this month!

I’ve had the best time “meeting” new bloggers and interacting with ya’ll! I can’t wait to see what Girlxoxo and Estella’s Revenge (creator and host of #amonthoffaves) have come up with next! Today’s linkup is here (sorry I’m late- internet probs this weekend!)

So, I’m cheating. I’m not talking about just one book today. I’m actually pitting 2 series against each other. But that’s ok- because I’m a grown ass woman and I can do what I want.

So, we’ll be chatting about The Fox and O’Hare series (Janet Evanovinch’s latest) versus The Stephanie Plum series (Janet’s oldest)…

(I feel like there should be an announcer screaming MORTAL KOMBAT like in the game!)

 

Meet The Fox and O’Hare series. Kate O’Hare is a kick butt FBI agent on the search for a con man named Nicholas Fox who has eluded her time and time again. When she finally captures him, the FBI has an interesting proposition- team up to flush out some major criminals. So they do. And the antics are fun and the chemistry is sizzling.

What I really like about the series- it’s fun. Light. Cute. But the best thing- the interaction between Kate and Nick. Reminds me of the old days of Joe and Stephanie… Except it’s better. Kate is take charge, smart, funny, and knows how to work a gun. She is “woman hear me roar”. I dig that.

 

Top Secret Twenty One

When Stephanie first started out being a bounty hunter- she was untrained. It was either become a bounty hunter or move in with her parents. And the chemistry between her and Joe was something else. They had a past- and it was fun and fresh for awhile. Now, it’s just ok. It’s draggy at times and it’s like Evanovich doesn’t know what to do with the folks anymore.

 

So, readers- have you read either of the series? Do you have a preference? Are you Team Cupcake or Team Babe for the Stephanie Plum series? Do you think that Kate and Stephanie could be friends if they met each other in book life? What about Nick, Joe and Ranger? Should Janet have a Fox & O’Hare/Plum meet-up?

 

And now- it’s time to LINK UP!

LINK UP IS HERE!

 

 

Happy Reading and Bookishly Yours,

T @ Traveling With TT Traveling With T pic sign off

9 thoughts on “A Month of Faves: Evanovich vs. Evanovich

  1. melissa says:

    I like this topic today-this is something I know a little something about! I love the both series. Stephanie Plum series is light, humorous, with each book I can’t wait to see what trouble she gets herself into and how she gets out of it! I’m Team Ranger all the way. I like Joe, but there’s just something that draws me to Ranger! I’m new to the Kate series but enjoyed it just as much! Wouldn’t that be a fun book to have her have Kate & Stephanie team up!

    • Aww!!! I’m so glad you enjoyed the topic!

      I do like Ranger- but Joe is my choice. Ranger is pretty tempting, tho 🙂

      I LOVE the Kate series. I like it way better than the later Plum books- but not quite as much as I loved the early Plum books.

      I would be curious to see if Kate and Steph ever meet!!

  2. This is a really fun idea, maybe I’ll have to borrow it some time. Compare an author’s work with itself. It is interesting to see how their writing improves from their first novel to their last. I haven’t read anything by this author, but I’ve heard great things. In all honesty I don’t know if I’m all that interested, but the characters sound like great ones. I’ll consider her for whenever I’m in the mood of some action packed read.

    • If you do read any of the Plum books, start with 1- and after 10- they go through some major ho-hum phases to me. I began to enjoy them around 16 again (but they still aren’t as good as the first ones!)

      I think that I would like to compare more authors with their other writing- and will probably revisit this topic again in the future!

      Thanks so much!!!!!

  3. I read the Fox and O’Hare series and really enjoy them. I’ve tried a couple of the Plum books, but I just got annoyed. And no thanks to a meet-up because I don’t want Stephanie and her gang ruining the series I like.

  4. momssmallvictories says:

    I haven’t read either series. I think I started the Plum series once but it didn’t engage me before I had to return ot the library. I will have to try the Fox series. Sounds like one I would like!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.